Skip to main content

Ashdale Secondary College’s curriculum is based on the Western Australian Curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum outlines the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities necessary for all Australian students. The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It clarifies what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high-quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is the independent authority responsible for developing a national curriculum, a national assessment program and a national data collection and reporting program that supports 21st-century learning for all Australian students.

ACARA’s work is carried out in collaboration with various stakeholders, including teachers, principals, governments, State and Territory education authorities, professional education associations, community groups and the general public.

In Years 7, 8, 9 and 10 your child will study various aspects from the following Learning Areas:

Literacy and numeracy skills are a focus for each of the Learning Areas and all teachers provide curriculum experiences that take account of and highlight the literacy and numeracy skills required for success within individual subjects. For more information on specific Learning Areas, please refer to the website under the Teaching & Learning tab.


Senior School Pathways and Courses

Studying at the senior level means that students are able to take greater responsibility for their decisions. This allows students to choose courses in their chosen pathway that assist them in moving towards their future career pathway. Two types of study pathways are offered at the College:

1. ATAR (University) Pathway Program

2. General Pathway Program (Non-University)

All students will study six (6) course equivalents in Year 11 and six (6) course equivalents in Year 12. Once a student has commenced their program of study, the College encourages students to continue with the same courses into Year 12. Course changes are usually only considered where the program of study is too difficult for that student.

ATAR (University) Pathway Courses

These courses are examined externally for the purposes of university entrance. Students will be required to study a minimum of five ATAR courses in Year 11 and subsequently the corresponding five ATAR courses in Year 12. Students will also be required to complete a Certificate II or higher.  A one-year certificate course is recommended for Year 11 students in the ATAR pathway.

For ATAR courses studied in Year 12, in addition to the grade (determined by the College), students are required to complete an external exam for each course. The final mark for each course is 50% of their school mark and 50% of the mark attained in the external exam.

The entrance requirements for ATAR courses are a B grade or higher in year 10 subjects. Students must have met OLNA requirements (minimum literacy and numeracy).

General Pathway Courses (Non-University)

These courses are for students aiming to enter further training or the workforce after the completion of Year 12. These courses are assessed at the College level, however, students will complete an Externally Set Task (EST), a task that is set by SCSA for moderation purposes. These courses do not contribute to direct university entrance eligibility. It is recommended that students select a course to study over the two years, as it can be very difficult to pick up a new course in Year 12 if the background has not been developed in Year 11.

There are no minimum requirements for general courses.